Music Wednesdays – “Weird Al” Yankovic’s “Skipper Dan”

There’s a certain genius in Weird Al’s ability to write a song that’s both funny and depressing at the same time. “Skipper Dan” is a style parody of Weezer, and was originally released on the 2008-09 Internet Leaks digital album, but was also included on the recent release of Alpocalypse.

Music Wednesdays – Crystal Castles’ “Vanished”

As Grace pointed out as I was picking a song from Crystal Castles this morning, I for some reason can get over my dislike of synth-infused voices for this band (provided there’s minimal screaming – I’m not huge on Alice Glass’ shrieks :p ).  I think it’s the retro video game sound they have – I just dig the mix of goofy/sexual lyrics and the blips and boops of my youth.  This is from their self-titled CD.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers